On July 18th The History Museum of Muinak, Karakalpakstan Republic was re-opened back to the public after the reconstruction. The reconstruction of the museum building, including the restoration of the museum exhibits were funded by The Council Of Ministers, Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Karakalpakstan and the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany.
The History Museum was founded in 1984 at the House of Culture building of Uchsay Muinak district, and in 1998 was moved to the House of Culture in the center of the district. The museum has over 200 exhibits of fine arts and applied arts, telling various stories of Muinak area of the Aral Sea, the local population and their daily activities, flora and the fauna of the area.
A special booth occupied by picturesque masterpieces of local Karakalpak artists Faima Madgazina and Raphael Matevosian, singers of the Aral Sea and the Amu Darya River, tells the story of Aral Sea from 1950 to 1980. Visitors of the museum are also able to see photos and a documentary telling the story of the Aral Sea and the region.